News/Blog

#28GRAMS Group show

#28GRAMS Group Show @FortWorksArt, FW Texas

This past weekend's journey to Fort Works Art in Texas exceeded my expectations by far. Who would've imagined Fort Worth had such a progressive and bustling art scene? #28GRAMS was an effort to bring a diverse handful of amazing artists together from all over the country. The friends made were worth the trip alone. Needless to say, there wasn't a dull moment from the time I stepped off the plane Friday morning to my departure on Sunday evening. I was truly sad to leave.

Just to highlight some of the awesome folks I spent most of time with over the weekend:

The first artist I was introduced to and immediately connected with, was the witty and charming Andre Veloux out of Princeton, NJ. If you haven’t seen what this chap can do with thousands of tiny legos, check him out. His pieces are amazing and take months to complete. (veloux.com

Shortly after, I stumbled across and soon became attached at the hips of Whisbe and Joseph Grazi, both from Brooklyn. Whisbe, super nice and personable dude, is known for his iconic gummy bear mugshots seen throughout New York. Grazi is a taxidermic-arranging-comedic-ninja. Both geniuses. Let’s just say we consumed an assload of Tacos. Hopefully be seeing these guys sooner than later. (whisbeworldwide.comjosephgrazi.net)

Chilean painter Alonsa Guevara, also based in NYC, is known for her portrait work incorporated with fruit. Her work is so realistic you have view at an angle to make sure it's actually 2D. Her use of light, color, composition and subject matter is crazy beautiful. Such a humble and engaging individual. (alonsaguevara.com)

One of my favs and Instagram/Basel bestie, Dan Lam, made a short but sweet appearance during the public opening Saturday. She's truly a sweet & inspiring human, and her work speaks for itself. I feel very fortunate to have her on my insta speed dial for all my art critiquing needs. (bydanlam.com)

Then there's Jessica Gordon, newish to painting, but you would never guess. Her dark yet sensual figurative works are jaw dropping. In my opinion she tops most realist painters I know who've been at it for decades. Come to find out, we live in the same city! Hoping to collaborate on a show of sorts in the coming months. (jessicaanngordon.com)

Drigo! I met this guy over my 4th meal of tacos. Another great Dallas based artist. This guys work literally pulls you in from across the room. His vivid color palette and Indigenous/cultural influenced characters are definitely worth checking out. (drigo.crevado.com)

If I've left anyone out, I apologize. My writing skills tend to struggle beyond an hour. All of the art was top notch and I wish I'd had the chance to connect with some of the others, but surely I'll be back for more tacos.

Special thanks to Fort Works Gallery Owner, Lauren Childs and Leigh Ann Williams for all the hospitality and fun times--also 2 lovely people and stellar artists. (laurenchilds.com & leighannwilliams.com)

Prayer hands and hearts,

Arthur Brouthers 

 

#28GRAMS

March 23 - May 20, 2017

FEATURING:

Dan Lam @sopopomo
Arthur Brouthers @arthurbros
Alonsa Guevara @alonsaguevara
Will Heron @w_heron
Riley Holloway @hollowayfineart
Michael Vasquez @michaelvasquez_
Hillary Dohoney @honeydoart
Drigo @drigo._
Kit King @kit_king
Andre Veloux @andreveloux
Jerome Lagarrigue @jlagarrigue
Joseph Grazi @josephgrazi
Eric Inkala @drinkala
Lauren Childs @laurenchildsart
Douglas Hoekzema @hoxxoh
Leigh Ann Williams @leighannwilliamshickey
Tim Okamura @timokamura
Sergio Garcia @_sergiogarcia_
Slinkachu @slinkachu_official
Whisbe @whisbe
Marshall Harris @marshallkharrisart
DJ Perera @djperera22
Ben Willis @ben.willis.art
Jessica Gordon @_jessicagordon_
Jessica McClendon @todayinthestudio
Chris Bingham @chrisbinghamart
Jesse Sierra Hernandez @jessesierrahernandez
Kukula @dear_kukula